(Organized) Chaos in my classroom

Right now, my students are in the midst of a ‘Choose your own adventure’ assignment. We’re wrapping up our unit on Angles and I wanted them to have a chance to show me what they’ve learned in a way that is meaningful to them. Earlier in the unit, we walked around the school and took pictures on the iPads, posting them to a Linoit board.  At the end of the unit, we came back to them to give us some context for thinking about our curriculum expectations. 

I wrote out the expectation for them. I talked to them about context, connections and using  ‘what they are good at.’ And then I said, “Go. Show me what you’ve learned.” I confess, for a few days they sort of looked puzzled. They brainstormed some ideas, but weren’t really sure what to do. I could tell that they were waiting for direction from me about what to do next. 

I said, “I don’t think it’s my job to stand at the front, while you sit and listen and write stuff down.” #mindblown.  I talked to them about being present and accountable for their learning. I talked about them working collaboratively to investigate what they know and what they have learned. I told them, “Do whatever you want to show me what you have learned.”

And so, if you visit my class during math right now, you’ll see a group researching construction practices and buliding nets. You’ll see groups writing songs about angles. Kids will be outside filming clips for a short film.  Kids are in the hall with a ukelele and a board game design. It’s chaos. Kids are all over the place. Everyone is doing different things. I’ll probably have to write like, 6 rubrics. That’s okay. The kids are engaged. They are focused. They are discussing their learning. They are doing it in a way that makes sense to them. 

 

2 thoughts on “(Organized) Chaos in my classroom

  1. redwallaus says:

    That is really great news. It is fantastic that your experiments with iPads and evernote is going so well. I just seen a news report recently about having 2 weeks without screens (no tv, computers, smartphones, tablets etc) with some reports that the grades of those students involved improved. I am a big fan of technology in the classroom but I wonder if if there is a balance in there somewhere?

    here is the wiki page for the screenless event if you are interested

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Screen-Free_Week

  2. Melissa Dean says:

    I definitely think there is a balance to be had. I confess that sometimes I bust out the ‘old school’ and write on the white board and have kids write it down. Sometimes all the technology you need is a pencil and piece of paper. Thanks for the info on the Screen Free Week. Definitely checking that out.

Leave a comment

The Learning Lab

I'm on a journey to unravel and reimagine education, one day at a time.

Would You Rather Math

ASKING STUDENTS TO CHOOSE A PATH AND JUSTIFY IT WITH MATH

Thinking After

Resources for wayfarers and wanderers

Talking Math With Your Kids

Supporting children’s early mathematical development

Paint Shirt Required

The messy business of teaching and leading.

Exploring the MathTwitterBlogosphere

Fun missions & prompts, Always ready! Blogging initiation starts Jan 2017

ChouZoo

Cage-rattlings and strange happenings...

Math Thinking

Sharing thinking about math from students

TeachThought

Reflections on teaching math, music and everything in between.

Wired EducatorWired Educator

Reflections on teaching math, music and everything in between.

The Nerdy Teacher

Reflections on teaching math, music and everything in between.

Not Another History Teacher

Reflections on teaching math, music and everything in between.

Learning with 'e's

Reflections on teaching math, music and everything in between.

wwwatanabe

Reflections on teaching math, music and everything in between.

Blogging About The Web 2.0 Connected Classroom

Reflections on teaching math, music and everything in between.

The Musical Mathematician

Reflections on teaching math, music and everything in between.